The Influence of Apple Commercials on Buying Behaviour.

When you have developed a new product, your last step is to make people aware of it by launching it into the market. The best way to promote your product is a time slot during the Superbowl half-time show, but it comes at a steep price. 

“During the Super bowl is when people are genuinely paying attention to the advertising.” (Smith, 2017)
Firstly, I want to tell you about a situation that happened to me very recently. Everybody has it someday; you can choose a new phone because your 2-year subscription is ending! I was in that situation a few weeks ago, my phone provider was ‘forcing’ me to do research in our complex world of many great phone brands and complicated technology. I started to do some research in the newest biggest brand today: “Huawei”, since – as you may know – Huawei is overwhelming the smartphone market.

At first, the advertisement convinced me that the phone is a great option to take into inconsideration. The commercial is telling me that the phone can capture amazing experiences. However, after I watched the promotional video, I was only aware of their new camera features. Also – as with many other ads – this plug tries to convince consumers with a story that is exaggerating. For somebody who has been working in the advertisement industry and created many commercials before, its hard to believe such an overdrawn display.

Despite knowing of the new iPhone X was way too expensive for a student budget, I still was interested to see what was so special about the iPhone X.

The commercial started with “Meet iPhone X” exactly what I was looking for.. so I kept watching. Apple’s online commercials were telling me about the new developments and features to their products. After the commercial, I knew exactly what the new features of the iPhone X were. Since I already own and have lots of experience with Apple products, I was also curious about what the experts were discussing the iPhone X.

Possible consumers and users are talking about the product online. Those discussions cause a lot of awareness of Apple’s new devices. All in all, the people who talked about it convinced me to buy another apple device. Thus, it all began with the knowledgeable and product based commercial.

Communicus research shows Apple’s advertising does a better job prompting buzz about their products than it does in directly building brand perceptions.” (Smith, 2017).
“Most brands would kill to have the status, popularity, and die-hard devotion enjoyed by Apple.” (Smith, 2017).
You may still be wondering why I did start this article with telling you about the effectiveness of the half time show at the Super bowl? Back in 1984, Steve Job was just a 24 years old boy, who was enthusiastic about his new developed product “the Macintosh”. He was working together with Lee Clow, the creative director of TBWA\WorldWide, to create a dramatic, famous and different add (“The Real Story Behind Apple’s Famous ‘1984’ Super Bowl Ad”, 2014).

 “It’s gotta be dramatic, I’ts gotta be famous, It’s gotta be different” — Lee Clow
Steve convinced the board of directors to run his first TV commercial during the Super bowl, which caused a lot of word of mouth. “Their iconic 1984 Macintosh commercial directed by Ridley Scott introduced three decades of powerful ads”. (Smith, 2017). The way Apple has convinced me to buy one of their products in 2018, already started in 1984. Would the informational commercials of Apple convince you to to buy an Apple product?

Want to see how Internet Culture influences online marketing? Check out Your Viral Culture for a blog post about the infamous Flex Tape commercial and how it picked up speed.

References:

Smith, D. (2018). I’ve used the iPhone 8 and the iPhone X — here’s which one I’d recommend buying. Retrieved from https://www.businessinsider.nl/why-you-should-buy-iphone-x-instead-iphone-8-2017-11/?international=true&r=US

Smith, J. (2017). Steve Jobs’ Advertising Strategy Is Why Apple Still Tops the Market. Retrieved from https://observer.com/2017/12/steve-jobs-advertising-strategy-is-why-apple-still-tops-the-market/

The Lost 1984 Video: young Steve Jobs introduces the Macintosh. (2009). Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2B-XwPjn9YY

The Real Story Behind Apple’s Famous ‘1984’ Super Bowl Ad. (2014). Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PsjMmAqmblQ

Wokke, A. (2018). Tweakers. Retrieved from https://tweakers.net/nieuws/142443/idc-apple-en-samsung-verliezen-weer-marktaandeel-op-europese-smartphonemarkt.html

Leave a comment